top of page

"Listen to Your Body" - What does it mean?

Often we hear the phrase, "listen to your body", while practicing yoga. As a yoga teacher, I am often finding myself saying this phrase in class without adding much context around the phrase. So, what do we mean when we say, "listen to your body"?


Glad you asked ;)


In short, listening to your body means paying attention to how your body feels (mentally and physically) at any point of time. This could be during yoga class or living out your day-to-day life.


In yoga class, my intention in saying "listen to your body" implies that I wish for you to take care of yourself as an individual yogi. If entering into a certain pose in a certain way is uncomfortable for your body, that is your bodies way of saying, "Woah! This isn't right, let's try something different." Hence why it is my responsibility as a yoga teacher to offer my students modifications, prop usage, and to allow communication in the room.


Or, take for example a pose that feels OH so good. You crave the stretch, and when I mention that particular pose, your brain thinks, 'oh thank goodness, my hips need this today!' And so we work into the pose, your body melts and it feels amazing, just the stretch you needed. That is also an opportunity to listen to your body! Ask yourself, why does this feel so good? What about this pose feels good, and where? This information is so important!


I believe that when we pay attention to pain, discomfort, feel good moments, etc. we are more in tune with our bodies. If sitting too long is painful, what movements (ie. walking around, bending over, lying on the ground, whatever it happens to be) helps to eliminate or ease the pain? When you move in such a way, what works to stretch or lengthen the muscles and what movements are 'crunchy' or bring additional discomfort? Take note!


I urge my students to keep a "Body Journal". A Body Journal can be very beneficial in helping you to pin point what is going on in your individual body - we are all created differently and our bodies have different needs. Journal before and after yoga class. Take note of how your body felt before class, during class, after class. Write about a pose that felt kinda weird - where did it feel weird, why? And then write about a pose that felt amazing - where did it feel amazing, why? Over time you will start to notice consistencies and will be able to pin point inconsistencies within your own body.

This can also be very useful for when injuries occur. Having documentation and a 'record', if you will, of the way your body has been moving and feeling, is a great conversation piece for your doctor, physical therapist, surgeon, and even your yoga teacher! It helps those in your life that are helping to bring your body into balance, better understand what is happening and how you got to the place you are today!


So do tell, how do you listen to your body?


I challenge you...


I challenge you to sit for 10 minutes in meditation. Sit quietly, sit still. As you breathe, notice your body. Notice the parts of your body that are touching the ground - how are they feeling? Notice your back - how is it feeling while seated? Notice your mental state - what is your mind doing during this time? Then spend 5 minutes journaling about your experience. Were there any pain points? What about sitting was comfortable or uncomfortable?

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Few Helpful Yoga Accessories For Your Yoga Bag

In last week's blog, I shared with you about my favorite must-have yoga props. In this blog I wanted to share a few accessories that I find to be helpful, but not necessarily necessary. **Please note

My Favorite Must Have Yoga Props

With so many brands, products, props and options out there, it can get confusing to know what yoga products are necessary and which ones are of the best quality. So I figured I would share some of my

bottom of page