top of page

Me Me Me Me Me, Amen. ~ March 29-April 4, 2020 Yoga Journal Prompt

John 3:30 (NIV) says, "He must become greater; I must become less."


I see bumper stickers on cars around town that say "HE>I". Love 'em! I think they're great! But what does it mean at its core? Or at least as it applies to my faith and prayer life.


When I read John 3:30 on its own, I envision a great big God and little 'ole me. Then I dig a little deeper and I translate the verse as God must be of more importance and come first in my life, while I must set my "me" mindset aside, focusing on Him first and foremost.


I think it's important to understand the full context of the text surrounding John 3:30 to truly understand what is going on during that time. The passage comes from a larger passage, a story from the Bible. John the Baptist and Jesus are baptizing people. Some of John's followers begin arguing about how baptism should be conducted and question John about Jesus saying, "look, he's baptizing people and everyone is going to him." They were confused, probably wondering why because John had always been the guy that baptized everyone.


And then John proceeds to inform them that he (John) was baptizing while the world waited on Jesus. Jesus was here, now, and it brings John joy, not anger or jealousy. And so, because of this, John must decrease to allow Jesus to increase. He desires for Jesus to be seen, while he takes a backseat.


I believe that we can take a lot from this expansion of a single verse. That we should make a point to allow Jesus to shine before we do. To put Him first in everything that we do, so people see Him before they see us. To pray to God and acknowledge His righteousness first, pray for others, and then focus on our individual needs. Allow for Jesus to be in the forefront of everything we do and say, and the rest will follow.


Speaking, then, to prayer life. I feel as though this could totally apply. Focusing first on God, praising His name first, speaking and praying His word, and then focus on individual needs and requests.


I don't know about you, but there have been times when I've been guilty of saying prayers that start and end with, well, me. I selfishly desire something or have a specific request, and it all becomes about Mara. It sort of goes like the title of this blog, "Dear God, Me me me me me me me me me, thank you for all you do, Amen." It's no wonder my answers are slow-coming. My priorities were askew!


John 3:30 is all about priorities. It's as simple as that.


This week's yoga journal prompt:


Make a priorities list. What has been your priority list in the past, and what is your priority list now?

Let's get you moving:


Head over to my totally free Facebook Group and find this week's yoga sequence. Spend some time in movement this week, reflecting on John 3:30 in your meditation and prayer time.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page